Skip to Content

The CNE Foundation is a registered charity founded in 1975 to promote interest in agriculture, horticulture, music, art, education and sports. 

To this end, every year the Foundation awards a number of grants to organizations committed to promoting on of the areas outlined in the Foundation's mandate. 

Eamonn O'Loghlin Scholarship Fund 

In 2013, the Foundation introduced the inaugural Eamonn O'Loghlin Scholarship Fund to honour the memory of Eamonn O'Loghlin, the Canadian National Exhibition's Director of Sponsorship and Partnerships, who passed away suddenly in January 2013. The scholarship was established to help post-secondary students, employed by the Canadian National Exhibition, pursue their studies and also to honour the indomitable spirit of Eamonn O'Loghlin, recognizing his love for Canada and his commitment to youth and the community. 

After careful consideration, Ajax's Andrew Clark and Naomi Soeandy of Toronto, Ontario were selected as the 2016 recipients. 

To read Andrew Clark's whole statement piece, click here.
To read Naomi Soeandy's whole statement piece, click here.

David Bednar Prize for New Canadian Citizens 

To celebrate his 17-year contribution to the CNE as General Manager, a new prize was established in David Bednar's name in conjunction with his retirement in May 2015. The newly established David Bednar Prize for New Canadian Citizens recognizes one family of New Canadian who were inducted at the CNE's Annual Citizenship Ceremony. This longstanding CNE event has always been a moving highlight for our former General Manager, who was born in the United States and became a Canadian Citizen at the CNE in 2000. 

The David Bednar prize for New Canadian Citizens consists of all-expense paid trip for one family to Ottawa, our nation's capital, for the Canada Day festivities the following year. 

The inaugural prize winner, randomly selected from willing participants who became Canadians at the CNE in August 2016, is the Wanjirv family from Toronto. 

This site is best viewed in modern browsers such as Google Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Internet Explorer 9 or 10.