Skip to Content
Executive Committee

President - John Kiru
Honorary President - Brian Ashton
1st Vice-President - Suzan Hall 
Vice-President - Councillor Mike Layton
Vice-President - Randy Bauslaugh
Vice-President - Darryl Kaplan 

December 2020 to Spring 2021 Directors
Past Presidents Honorary President

Knox Henry
Jim Melvin

Brian Ashton

Section 1 - Municipal Section 2 - Manufacturers & Industry

Mayor John Tory
Councillor Paul Ainslie
Deputy Mayor Stephen Holyday
Councillor Cynthia Lai
Councillor Mike Layton
Councillor Anthony Perruzza

Celeste Kirk
Greg Pollock 
Helen Wojcinski
John Kiru
Suzan Hall

Section 3 - Agriculture Section 4 - General & Liberal Arts

Bill Ford
Domenic Lunardo
Darryl Kaplan
Perry Chao

Doris Pontieri 
Jacquie Perrin
Jennifer Ward
Michael Wallace
Randy Bauslaugh

Canadian National Exhibition Association (CNEA)

The Canadian National Exhibition (CNE) is governed by the Canadian National Exhibition Association (CNEA), an Agricultural Society without share capital incorporated by a Special Act of the Legislature of Ontario. The CNEA and its volunteer Board of Directors operate under the jurisdiction of both this provincial act, An Act respecting the Canadian National Exhibition Association, and the Agricultural & Horticultural Organizations Act of Ontario.

The CNEA is responsible for the planning and presentation of the annual Canadian National Exhibition at Exhibition Place in Toronto, Ontario. Founded in 1879, the CNE is an 18-day fair that takes place in late summer leading up to, and including, Labour Day.

In 2013, the CNEA became financially independent of Exhibition Place and the City of Toronto. During the period from 1983 to 2013, the CNEA maintained its status as an Agricultural Society and was also a program of Exhibition Place. During this time, all CNEA surpluses and deficits were absorbed by Exhibition Place and the City of Toronto. The CNEA’s new independent status enables it to retain the revenues it generates and to re-invest them in the fair.

The CNEA currently has more than 125 members comprised of individuals and associations representing each of the following sectors: Municipal, Manufacturers & Industry, Agriculture and General & Liberal Arts. Member associations appoint representatives to the CNEA and 15 members from the “community-at-large” are appointed directly by the CNEA. Each year, a Board of Directors is elected from this membership giving equal representation to each of the Manufacturers & Industry, Agriculture, and General & Liberal Arts sections. Six representatives of the Municipal section are appointed by Toronto City Council.

If you or your organization are interested in membership in the CNEA, please contact our Corporate Secretary, Sarah Fink at 416-263-5201 or

This site is best viewed in modern browsers such as Google Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Internet Explorer 9 or 10.